zatch's 60g cube mixed reef

zatch

Goby
M.A.S.C Club Member
After a long hiatus from marine tanks (and a huge increase in downtime over the course of the pandemic), Ive started a new build! My goal is to set this up as a stable multi-year mixed reef with minimal maintenance.

Because I rent downtown, I generally shy away from anything too large that would either get me in trouble with the complex or be extraordinarily difficult to move when a lease ends. For those reasons, I went with a 57gal Deep Blue / Aquarium Masters "Edge" series low iron rimless tank for this build that measures 36x18x20, which is pretty much the limit of what I can setup within my restraints...

Before my current lease ends in January, I wanted to get the tank initially setup and going on the long cycle so that it will be ready for the fun part shortly after the move!

I spent the weekend building out the stand. Fortunately, I have some woodworking experience, and friends with garages and lots of tools! I generally build stands with oak or maple, but decided to splurge and finished this cabinet in walnut.

Some photos of the construction
View attachment 17868 View attachment 17869 View attachment 17870 View attachment 17871 View attachment 17872

Need to clean up some trim work, but here is the finished product with the tank on the stand
View attachment 17873

(my cat kristofferson for scale)
View attachment 17874

Up next will be the drilling/plumbing work once the parts come in! Stay tuned!

JodiI

Administrator
Staff member
M.A.S.C Club Member
M.A.S.C. B.O.D.
B.O.D. Member-at-Large
Beautiful woodwork! And I love the catfish. Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

So when you say long cycle - you going fishless? Do you plan to use sand? Aquascape or just pile in the rock and worry about aquascaping after the move?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TheRealChrisBrown

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
Great job on the stand, looking great so far!