Newbie lighting question

Hello everyone. My name is Matt Nugent from Loveland. I am new to the world of marine aquariums. I have my tank (90 gallon rectangle, 48x18x22) up and running and have been cycling for about 3 weeks. Porsche from Great White has been walking me through the entire process from day 1. I go there about every 3 days with an entire paper of questions and she has been invaluable. So most of my technical questions are taken care of, but I am looking for opinions on lighting my 90 FOWLR. After my cycle completes I intend on having 3 triggers, a Hawaiian Black, a Humuhumu (rectangle), and a Picasso humu, fingers crossed that Great White can get me all 3 at the same time and they all play nice together. I swam with these three fish everyday for a month in Maui about 12 years ago and have always dreamed of having them in my home. I tried to move there last year from SC, but decided on CO. So, since I can't snorkel with them everyday while living here, it's time to finally have some triggers join my family. For lighting right now I'm using a 4 foot, 4 t8 bulb shop light with a reflector. My main objective with the lighting is to bring out the best color in the fish possible. While money is ALWAYS a concern, my question is strictly about bringing out the best color in those beautiful fish. Should I go with t8 actinic bulbs or should I buy a new led light ? Right now the tank is on an old stand, but I'm going to build an exotic wood stand and hood so I don't want the lighting to detract from the work I'm going to do. Thanks for any input.

Balz3352

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
First of all welcome!
Man you are opening up a can of worms with this question.... Lighting is a personal thing in this hobby. It will be interesting to see what more experienced people say here (I'm new also) I recently switched from pc to led and couldn't be happier. It also will be interesting to see the fish color aspect vs coral growth which is usually the aspect debated.