What is this

Haulin Oates

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Sorry for the pics... It appears to be a nudi of some kind... But it's pretty dull in color, not bright like zoa eating ones.

It climbed right out of some zoas I was fragging. My zoas are all happy though, I don't have any that are closed up or anything...

jahmic

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
I'm no expert...but that definitely looks like a nudi to me.

I'd start checking around the rest of your colonies for eggs, and it'd probably be a good idea to dip what you can before it gets out of hand. In most of the pics online that I've seen of them...they're that white-tan color until they mature and have been snacking on polyps for some time. You probably caught that one fairly early...I'd try to knock them out before you DO start seeing annoyed polyps.

Haulin Oates

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
Well... Every zoa frag I own just got dipped in coral rx. There were 2 small colonies on big rocks that I couldn't dip, but I thoroughly inspected and didn't see anything. Guess that my lesson in dipping ALL corals!! No matter what source!!

that0neguy1126

Registered Users
M.A.S.C Club Member
Blazinjack;203255 said:
Guess that my lesson in dipping ALL corals!! No matter what source!!
Yep. Even if I trust the person and know their tank is pest free I still dip. There is no downside really.

jahmic

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
that0neguy1126;203256 said:
Yep. Even if I trust the person and know their tank is pest free I still dip. There is no downside really.
+1. I've only ever seen pods come scurrying off my frags, but I dip everything no matter what.

And yea, definitely hard to say if that's a zoa-eating type, but better safe than sorry.

asn-naso

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member