Your Suggestions and Recommendations = My Tank Build

Reef_Newbie

Goby
M.A.S.C Club Member
Hi Everyone,

After talking it over with my wife, we have decided that we want to begin a reef tank sometime this Summer. During the time leading up to this, I would like to acquire all of the materials I need to successfully start my own reef tank. I hope to be able to find some good deals over the course of the next few months and make sure that I am fully prepared before getting started. I am completely new to Saltwater(8 years of Freshwater) so I would like to rely on your recommendations on what parts/pieces to assemble to have a great and cost effective tank up and running by Summer. I look forward to any input that you may have for me!

I would love to not break the $1K mark during this whole process, so we will use that as a base amount for a budget. A little fluctuation in the budget is OK, provided it is necessary.

So, let us begin with the pieces of equipment that I know of at this point will be required/suggested:

Tank + Stand: 75G RR Tank/Stand/Canopy - PURCHASED
Lighting: 2X 120W LED 2:1 Blue:White - PURCHASED
Sump + Refugium: PURCHASED
Pumps: 900 GPH Return Pump PURCHASED
Filters(nitrogen ETC):
Rocks + Sand:
Skimmer: SWC 160 Xtreme Cone Skimmer PURCHASED
Salt:
CalK:
ATO:
Refractometer:
RO/DI:
Test Kits:
Monitor:
Flow:

I am sure there are more things I am missing so please let me know. If any of you over the next few months come across any deals on these pieces, think of this thread, and let me know! I want to make sure I am prepared and do things right, so I am relying on those individuals who have more knowledge than me to help me out!

I am excited to hear what recommendations you have for me and as I said earlier, really look forward to your feedback. Thanks for your help!

-Dean

Last edited by a moderator:

09bumblebee

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member