Quarantine tank disaster

fonduecat

Cleaner Shrimp
I'm new to the hobby and made my first big mistake. I didn't set up a quarantine for my new fish and got a yellow tang that soon was covered in ich. I did some research and decided on setting up a quarantine/hospital tank and treating him with hyposalinity. This is what I got for the tank-

27 gallon cube tank
Biowheel power filter
700 gph powerhead
Heater
Thermometer
LED light (not sure of the specs, came with the tank)
1 big piece of PVC

I started by soaking the biowheel in the water of the main tank overnight, then filling half of the hospital tank with water from the display tank, then the other half with new water. I made sure the measurements from both tanks matched exactly. Salinity was 1.023, temp of 78, pH at 8.1 and ammonia/Nitrites/nitrates at 0.

The second I put the tang in he started to float sideways. It took him a minute before he just sat at the bottom. By the time I had put him in, the ich made it hard for him to use his left fin and he was breathing very fast. Hours later in the quarantine tank he started to float, the next morning he was belly up. I thought it was just too late and maybe the ich was bad enough that there was nothing to do to save him. Fast forward 2 weeks. I have the tank still set up (same water, probably a bad thing). The parameters are still the same as the main tank. I got a tri-color wrasse, drip acclimated her to the quarantine tank for over an hour, then once I put her in, she sank to the bottom and started to act like the tang. Just void of life. Scared she would die shortly we just put her in the main tank hoping that since they had the same biology she would be okay. Instant life. She swam around, said hello to the clownfish and made her home in a rock. She ate, explored and was a happy fish.