(QT) quarantine tank

Jeremiah

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
To all you other newbies....set up a QT tank. I am new to the hobby, but I just wanted to toss that advice out.

If I didn't have one I would have bubble algea, aptasia, mojano's, and now I am fighting acropora eating flatworms in the qt.

I dip everything before putting anything in the qt and still I got these things into the qt. so far everything has been eliminated without anything getting into my main tank.

i find as a noob even dipping and scrubbing I don't know what i am looking for so it can be missed. I am always learning and proper quarantine gives you the time you need to learn.

andynco

Angel Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
(QT) quarantine tank

I found something that helped a lot is mrsaltwater's how to qt book other then it cost $47 I reed it front to back it really help you mite want to give that a try.

DyM

Sting ray
M.A.S.C Club Member
Don't waste you $ on that (IMO)

I use a 10 gallon fish tank, with a small hang on filter to supply O2, and has cabon in the filter, two different lights (one weak one, and one strong; I’ll expand on this later). Also two small power heads, and a heater. This setup is nothing elaborate, and it’s setup for a minimum of a few days, to as long as a few months.

Plan ahead when you order or buy corals. Have the necessary dips, and have the space available to set up the quarantine tank and get it up and running a few days before you get new coral.