New tank ecosystem

Hello, I am new to the reef tank systems and I am diving right in. I have my 75 gallon cycling around 350gph I am running t5 for 10 hours a day. The ecosystem seems to be off to a good start. All of my levels are in range and just a little high in nitrate and ammonia, but not enough to be concerned. It has been 1 week and 3 days and I am seeing algae growth on my live rocks and sand. My question is, when do I know that I am ready for fish, coral, inverts, and mushrooms?

Dr.DiSilicate

Administrator
Staff member
M.A.S.C Club Member
M.A.S.C. B.O.D.
MASC Vice-President
live rock? how much and from where. A typical cycle will last for up to 6 weeks. Hold off on all coral till your ammonia is at 0 and your ntrate is as well. I'd be willing to guess that your ammonia is yet to climb. You can get products that'll speed the cycle along if you want. Dr. Tim's one and only comes to mind. I've used it and can say that it will really speed things along. I can not stress this enough, GO SLOW. Learn as much as you can now. Do you have a good LFS "local fish store" near you. Have them double check your test results. Anytime you may feel as if you are waisting on waiting will actually save you time and $. Where do you live? Maybe one of the more experienced people in your area could come over and help trouble shoot the system.... ooh and welcome !

CRW Reef

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio

Welcome glad you joined us!

As for when your tank is ready, you will want to wait until your initial tests read like this:

- Ammonia : zero
- Nitrite: zero
- Nitrate: close to zero but detectable
- PH: closest to 8.1-8.3 as you can get it
- Alkalinity: 7/8
- Calcium: around 400 +/-

Once your levels read like that you should be good to go to introduce some corals and fish, but I would research the corals and fish some before you start adding like crazy (easy to do I know)