MH bulb questions

fiji4118

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
Hey all. So picked up Scott's (hoosierdaddy) 36" dual 250w MH and dual t5 fixture. Thanks Scott. Trying to figure out bulb combo for growth. This is going over a 48x24x12 tank. Thinking geismann actinics for both t5s. For the MHs (DE) need some help. I know Seth and others like the Phoenix 14k. Doesn't look like I can get those anymore. Looked at a few others but would like some more opinions. Also interested in hanging height. Thoughts?

Thanks!

Adam

MuralReef

Administrator
Staff member
M.A.S.C Club Member
M.A.S.C. B.O.D.
MASC Vice-President
There are a couple of places that have the Phoenixes still. I got some 2 weeks ago from Champion Lighting. Bit more expensive then what I wanted to pay though.

BrianH

Butterfly Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
ex-officio
I had been running the phoenix 14k 250w de bulbs for 2 years and for an experiment, I switched 2 months ago to the XM 10k and doubled the amount of actinic led supplementation to balance out the color. At first I couldn't get past how much yellower they are than the 14k bulbs and really disliked them. The first month a couple of my corals lost a little color but most stayed the same. This second month the growth rate has taken off. I have never had my corals grow so fast. This was the trade off I expected, and because of the growth, I'm much more tolerant of the color difference.

SynDen

Administrator
Staff member
M.A.S.C Club Member
M.A.S.C. B.O.D.
M.A.S.C President
M.A.S.C Webmaster
As I understand it the pheonix bulb should be available again in june or july. Personal preference but I would go ATI blue+ for the t5s but the geismann are good bulbs too.

sethsolomon

Hammerhead Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
SynDen;346546 said:
As I understand it the pheonix bulb should be available again in june or july. Personal preference but I would go ATI blue+ for the t5s but the geismann are good bulbs too.