UV Sterilizer

Jeremiah

Tang
M.A.S.C Club Member
Anyone have any first hand knowledge about what would be a decent brand to pick up for my Innovative marine SR60? Ideally I want to try and put it in-line with one of my returns.

Some of the brands I'm looking at are
Aqua UV 25W
coralife turbo twist
green killing machine 24w

Any other options that i should be looking at?

I have a coralife used the bulb is 2 weeks old. Let me know if you are interested.

jahmic

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
I have the 25W Aqua UV and like it a lot. I've been able to purchase replacement bulbs and quartz sleeves locally at pond shops. That's probably the only advantage over the other options...they all do essentially the same thing. I can't comment on bulb life for the other brands, but I've been running the same bulb 24/7 for about 18 months now...I'm definitely happy with it.

I have the Aqua Classic 57 Watt. Love it! Replaced the bulb once just... 'cause, well..., it says to. I run it 24/7 through my return and have the Apex shut the bulb off when the main pump shuts off. If not, I understand you're running the risk of the bulb sleeve breaking because of heat build up.

jahmic

Reef Shark
M.A.S.C Club Member
AGGJSW;341123 said:
I have the Aqua Classic 57 Watt. Love it! Replaced the bulb once just... 'cause, well..., it says to. I run it 24/7 through my return and have the Apex shut the bulb off when the main pump shuts off. If not, I understand you're running the risk of the bulb sleeve breaking because of heat build up.
I do the same with my Apex. In the past I had the UV hooked up to a MJ1200; there were several occasions where the Maxijet froze after a power outage and the UV turned back on with no flow going through it. There have been times where a full 24hrs went by with the bulb sitting in the sleeve cooking and I never had a problem. I'm not saying it's OK to run the UV "dry"...but that sleeve is pretty beefy to be able to withstand that unintentional abuse. :)