125g LRFO tank to 150g reef build

I got a 150g acrylic tank and am taking down my 125g to make room. this is my first build were i am keeping track. all so what sand should i use. i have had the crushed coral but was thing about going with somting smaller. what would you guys recomend. Nick

125GL

New tank

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

anyone know how to clean this rock befor putting it in the new tank

Boogie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
Nice tank! Throw the crushed coral in the trash (ok, maybe use just a weeeeeee lil bit of it to seed your new sand) and switch to regular sand (not the finest one but one step above). Crushed coral has been found to trap bad things and now that your switching tanks out would be the best time to get rid of it.

You really don't want to use old sand in a new set up anyways as it can go anarobic (sp?).

Just my .02c but I'm a know nothing, one of the smarter type people will chime in here quickly i'm sure.

On the cleaning thing, you can take some of the old tank water out, put it in a tub with the rock and go at it with a tooth brush, I used the wife's she didn't mind....or know till after the divorce... =)

Side note: Chrislorenz is looking for a 125g tank with stand if you are interested in selling yours you might send him a pm...bewarned though...hes cheap. =)

Cake_Boss

Blue Whale
M.A.S.C Club Member
Boogie;94949 said:
Side note: Chrislorenz is looking for a 125g tank with stand if you are interested in selling yours you might send him a pm...bewarned though...hes cheap. =)
+1.

You could save the old sand and make frag plugs.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

chrislorentz

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
ohohohoh 125 for sale? for the record im am only a little cheap not alot cheap !

chrislorentz

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
leave it dirty dont clean it up.....hehehe is it glass? RR?

Mantid

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member