Shawn's 175g Peninsula Build

szavoda

Butterfly Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
Hey all -

I had a build thread going over at ReefCentral, but I thought I would continue it over here since this is the community that I play with more than anything. I won't duplicate the whole thing, but I will share some of the pics that walk through the build. If you have any questions, comments or concerns, please let me know...

As a background, I have been reefing for about 12 years (on and off). Divorce took my 240g down. When I moved back into the house, I put it back up, but it got neglected and came down again. A couple of the key things that I wanted to address this time were:

1. Central location. Get away from the basement and into the main floor living area
2. Leak control - flood bad :)
3. Automation - more of it. Automated water changes and a better overall use of my controller

Shawn

szavoda

Butterfly Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
I got bold and decided to build all of the tanks myself. Plasticare Inc. CNC routed everything perfectly. Good people over there...

szavoda

Butterfly Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
Meanwhile, stand construction. The bottom section of wood is fiberglassed in to act as a water basin and has a drain in the far back in case of a leak. Already accidentally tested this feature twice so far, lol:

zombie

Dolphin
M.A.S.C Club Member
Not sure if you have done so already, but I would reinforce the joice above where you took that post out. Given its size and location, its most likely just for asthetics, but there is a small chance the post was load bearing.

Last edited by a moderator:

szavoda

Butterfly Fish
M.A.S.C Club Member
zombie;345690 said:
Not sure if you have done so already, but I would reinforce the joice above where you took that post out. Given its size and location, its most likely just for asthetics, but there is a small chance it could be load bearing.